Mississippi Personal Injury Firm
Mississippi Car Accident Laws

Mississippi Car Accident Laws

Accidents can happen when we least expect them. Because of this, it’s important to understand some crucial information that can impact you after an accident. Car accident laws and insurance requirements vary by state. Below, we discuss important car accident laws in Mississippi.

Reporting a Car Accident

In cases of minor accidents, such as fender benders or parking lot accidents, you are not required to report the accident to law enforcement. However, Mississippi Code section 63-3-411 requires the driver of a vehicle to report an accident they are involved in if it:

 
  • resulted in injury to or death of any person, or

  • resulted in total property damage to an apparent extent of $500 or more.

 

A driver can make a report to a local police department, the nearest sheriff’s station, or the nearest Mississippi Highway Patrol station.

Insurance Requirements

In almost all Mississippi car accidents, insurance will come into play. Drivers are legally required to carry the following liability coverage amounts:

 
  • $25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle

  • $50,000 liability coverage for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle

  • $25,000 liability coverage for property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.

 

Remember, Mississippi drivers are required to always have paper proof of car insurance.

Comparative Negligence

The state of Mississippi follows a comparative negligence insurance rule. This means that you can still recover damages in a car accident in which you were partially responsible. But, your award total will be reduced by your share of negligence.

 

For example, let’s say your total damages were $100,000 but you were found to bear 30% of fault in the accident. Instead of receiving the full award amount, your total recovery will be reduced by $30,000 and you will recover $70,000 in damages.

 

If you or a loved one was injured in a Mississippi car accident, the personal injury attorneys at Chatham Gilder Howell Pittman are here to fight hard for your full financial recovery. We have the skills, knowledge, and experience needed to ensure you receive the compensation you need to heal. You can rest easy knowing your case is in our hands.


Contact Chatham Gilder Howell Pittman at (662) 222-0597 to schedule your free case review.

Categories:

We Are Ready To Listen

Contact Chatham Gilder Howell Pittman
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.